Quick check-in before Conference

I’m flying out tomorrow to Atlanta for the RWA Conference, and am so excited I can’t stand it.  I’ve been watching facebook posts by authors lucky enough to already be there, and I’ve seen a few pictures from the hotel.  The Marriott Marquis is really getting into the spirit of the conference – they have wrapped the elevators with giant book covers!  Isn’t that amazing?

I’ve written my pitch (to non-writers, that’s the short “blurb” writers use to try and sell their story to editors and agents)…basically, what you’d see on the back of the book that entices you to read it.  I’ve also written the logline – the one sentence that encapsulates your story – great to use if you meet someone who asks what your book is about.  It’s short enough you can say it on an elevator ride, but get the point across about your book.

I have to laugh, however.  I blew my chance last night to actually practice an ‘elevator pitch’.  I walked out with my boss last night and he asked where I was going this week.  I told him about the conference, and that I have 3 pitch appointments.  We literally stepped on the elevator and he asked what my book was about.  I was so surprised I forgot the logline I’d written.  Keep your fingers crossed that I don’t do that in Atlanta!

I’ll be checking in periodically on facebook and twitter.  Hope you all have a great weekend!

Allison

About Allison B Collins

Allison B Collins is an aspiring author, writing tales of love. After all, everyone deserves a Happily Ever After.

Posted on July 16, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You’re going to have a great time!! Can’t wait to hear all about it.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

