Hot ‘Lanta

Hard to believe that one week from today I will be in my 3rd workshop at Nationals.  For my non-writer friends, this is a HUGE, MAJOR conference for Romance Writers of America.  This is my 4th year to go, and every year it’s in a different city.  This year is Atlanta, and bless Dallas for prepping me for hot, humid, bad hair days.  Yes, Atlanta in JULY.  Ugh.  But, I don’t plan on leaving the conference hotel, so hopefully that air conditioning will kick in and it won’t be too bad.

Anyhow, I love going to this conference.  This would be, for you music fans, going to a conference where all your favorite rock stars are gathered.  Yes, I can be fan-girl crazy when I get to meet my favorite authors…at least on the inside.  On the outside, I maintain a professional demeanor.  I just have to remember that one of these days I hope to have my own books on bookshelves next to my favorite authors.  (Oops, there goes the fan-girl again!)

RWA Nationals is 3 days of high energy pandemonium.  What else can it be when 2,000 women (and some men!) get together in one place to talk about something we all love: WRITING.  The workshops are fantastic, and I already have the ones I want to attend chosen, printed out the handouts, and the extra events on my calendar. I always come back so energized from Nationals, so I’ll be ready and rarin’ to go on the next manuscript.

The conference ends with the RITA and GOLDEN HEART awards on Saturday night.  Now, to non-writers, I liken these to the Oscars and Emmy awards.  RITAS are for the books published in 2012, and the Golden Hearts are for unpublished manuscripts.  I have my favorites picked out already, and will be waiting with breathless anticipation as they announce the winners in each category.

I’ll keep in touch via facebook: www.facebook.com/AuthorAllisonBCollins  and twitter: @allisonbcollins if you want to follow along and see the fun I’m having.

Oh, and please say a prayer, keep your fingers crossed, or whatever you do for luck.  I’m pitching my manuscript to an agent and an editor next week. (Cue the butterflies in my stomach.)

Au revoir!

About Allison B Collins

Allison B Collins is an aspiring author, writing tales of love. After all, everyone deserves a Happily Ever After.

Posted on July 11, 2013, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

The WordPress.com Blog

The latest news on WordPress.com and the WordPress community.

